The long road from Addis Ababa to Dolo Ado

I’ve put together a slideshow of images shot on the journey from Addis Ababa to Dolo. We were pretty pressed for time so most of these are shot out of the window of a moving 4WD (not my favourite mode of working). Some are a little soft from the inevitable camera shake you get when driving on unsealed roads but I hope they give you an idea of the topography covered: the surprisingly verdant Ethiopian highlands, the treacherous muddy road between Aleto Wendo and Wadera, the changing flora as you drop down to Negele and the parchment dry desert of Dolo that hasn’t seen a drop of rain for 3 years.

The journey is just over 1,000kms. It took us 20hrs with a great driver (thank you Abrahim), for some of our trucks it took 4 days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shelterbox continues to respond the famine crisis in Ethiopia, Kenya and South Sudan. For more information or to donate please visit: http://www.shelterbox.org

About MikeGreenslade

Mike is General Manager of ShelterBox Australia, a ShelterBox Response Team member and photographer, based in the Northern Rivers of NSW.
This entry was posted in photography, Shelterbox and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The long road from Addis Ababa to Dolo Ado

  1. Nathan Jones says:

    Hi mate, Looks like a great trip. Would love to travel with you on one of these. Hope all well.
    Nathan

  2. moleculebond says:

    Nice one mickster! Ethiopia is an amazing country, they say human life and coffee began there! Contradiction then that coffee is one of the largest trade economies in the world and ethiopia still a desperatly poor country! ohh politics bleddy love it! Hope you are happy n well xxx

  3. Pingback: The Horn of Africa One Year On | ShelterBox Australia's Blog

  4. kaz says:

    Hello from Japan. This is my first comment.
    I am a fledgling journalist from news media.
    I will visit to Dolo Ado to collecting data from the women and children who live there in near future. But I haven’t gotten the information about how to go there for a long time.
    Could you tell me the way to go to Dolo in more detail if you don’t mind.

    Best wishes,
    Kaz

    • Hi Kaz, thanks for reading the blog. I’m afraid i don’t too much more detail that what is in the blog but I highly recommend that you hire a good driver for the trip down from Addis. I will look through my records and see if I can find the company we used. The road over the mountains can be treacherous and local knowledge is needed. I’ll see what I can find. Cheers, Mike

      • kaz says:

        Mr.Gleenslade, thanks for replying me quickly. Your piece provide me with useful information. That sounds difficult but I’ll see what I can do. From Addis I’m going to hire a good driver with local knowledge for now.
        Best wishes, Kaz

Leave a Reply

