ROTW – Kate Bush – Strange Phenomena

Talk about Strange Phenomena! I hadn’t heard this track in years and then recently it was played  on Radcliffe & Maconie‘s, The Chain. ‘Nothing too strange there’ you may say, well, a couple of days later my family we’re just leaving Bangalow market, when I chanced upon a copy of Kate Bush’s 1978 debut album, “The Kick Inside”. The stall holder wanted $10 but I only had $6.35 on me and upon seeing the anguish in my eyes the deal was done. Now comes the strange bit. As soon as I got home I put the record on the turnable and played the whole album several times over, amazed that it hadn’t been in my life for so long. I sat there reading the lyrics from the back of the album sleeve and there in the words to “Strange Phenomena” was the line, “A day of coincidence on the radio” ………. Now, if I hadn’t heard the song on the radio would I have found the album? Yeah man, just think about it …………

There was a time when Kate was the last thing I saw before I went to sleep and the first thing I saw when I awoke (her poster adorned my bedroom ceiling). “The Kick Inside” is packed with top tunes from start to finish, including the classic Wuthering Heights and Them Heavy People, but for me, this is the one that sums up the strange and beautiful phenomena that is Kate Bush

About MikeGreenslade

Mike is General Manager of ShelterBox Australia, a ShelterBox Response Team member and photographer, based in the Northern Rivers of NSW.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

